Pop-up news
The Pop-Up Chess Set (Kickstarter) (March 1, 2022 12:44 am)
Pop-Up Funk (Kickstarter Project) (January 26, 2020 8:05 pm)
Mind-Blowing Pop-Up Books (July 14, 2019 6:30 pm)
The upcoming World of Warcraft pop-up book (February 4, 2019 12:11 am)
2018 Meggendorfer Prize winners! (September 30, 2018 4:07 pm)

Meggendorfer Prize Collectors guide

In this list you’ll find the very best recent pop-up books that have been published. Every two years, the Movable Book Society organizes an awards ceremony where one paper engineer wins the Meggendorfer Prize for best commercial publication. We’ve made a complete list of this years winner, finalists and previous years winners. All books in this list are absolutely must haves for pop-up book collectors! You can click on the provided links and order a copy of a book on Amazon.

Zahhak: The Legend Of The Serpent King

2018 Winner Trade Publication

Zahhak: The Legend Of The Serpent King by Simon Arizpe is the winner of the 2018 Meggendorfer Prize for Trade publication. A giant and beautiful pop-up book about the story of Zahhak is a retelling of the myth about the misguided Prince Zahhak who is easily swayed by the devil to murder his father and usurp the throne.

Amazon link: Zahhak: The Legend Of The Serpent King
Paper Engineer: Simon Arizpe
Artwork: Hamid Rahmanian
Publisher: Fantagraphics Books

2018 Meggendorfer Prize finalists

Welcome to the Neighbourwood

2016 Winner Commercial book

Welcome to the Neighbourwood by Shawn Sheehy is the winner of the 2016 Meggendorfer Prize for commercial publication. A beautiful pop-up book about animals who share the same habitat with a crafty look and a variety of different paper engineering techniques.

Amazon link: Welcome to the Neigborwood
Author and Engineer: Shawn Sheehy
Publisher: Candlewick Pop edition

2016 Meggendorfer Prize finalists

Winners of previous editions

A list with all the Movable Book Society Meggendorfer Prize winners for commercial publication.

2014 Meggendorfer Prize winner

Title: Transformers: The Ultimate Pop-up Universe
Paper Engineer: Matthew Reinhart
Published by: LB Kids 2013

2012 Meggendorfer Prize winner

Title: Paper Blossoms
Paper Engineer: Ray Marshall
Published by: Chronicle Books

2010 Meggendorfer Prize winner

Title: ABC3D
Paper Engineer: Marion Bataille
Published by: A Neal Porter Book

2008 Meggendorfer Prize winner

Title: Star Wars-Pop-up Guide to the Galaxy
Paper Engineer: Matthew Reinhart
Published by: Orchard Books, Scholastic

2006 Meggendorfer Prize winner

Title: One Red Dot: A Pop-up for Children of All Ages
Paper Engineer: David A. Carter
Published by: Little Simon, Simon & Schuster

2004 Meggendorfer Prize winner

Title: Knick-Knack Paddywhack!
Paper Engineer: Andrew (Andy) Baron
Published by: Dutton’s Children’s Books

2002 Meggendorfer Prize winner

Title: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
Paper Engineer: Robert Sabuda
Published by: Little Simon, Simon & Schuster

2000 Meggendorfer Prize winner

Title: Cookie Count: A Tasty Pop-up
Paper Engineer: Robert Sabuda
Published by: Little Simon, Simon & Schuster

1998 Meggendorfer Prize winner

Title: The Christmas Alphabet
Paper Engineer: Robert Sabuda
Published by: Orchard Books